American Tennis Association


The ATA was born when representatives from more than a dozen black tennis clubs met in Washington, D.C. on Nov. 30, 1916, Thanksgiving Day. Dr. Harry S. McCard, Dr. William H. Wright, Dr. B.M. Rhetta, Ralph Cook, Henry Freeman and Tally Holmes were among the ATA’s founding fathers.

The Western Federation of Tennis Clubs - forerunner to the Pacific Coast Championships - was formed 4 months later. In 1917 the ATA asked the WFTC  to join them as their Western Section. They accepted, becoming part of what is now the oldest and largest minority tennis Association in the world.

The initial Member Clubs were Pasadena, Glendale, Santa Monica, Westside, Ceres and Alpha. In 1921 the 1st PCC Tournament was held during the Labor Day weekend. Subsequent  Annual PCC Tournaments followed in the ATA tradition of rotating the location up and down the West Coast. It has been held in Los Angeles, San Diego, Palm Springs, Oakland, Bakersfield and Portland, Oregon. In recent years, the tournament has been held in the city of Long Beach but there are plans on the drawing board to start rotating it again.

Celebrating 100 years of rich tradition, the PCCTA will unite with the other ATA Sections in Baltimore, MD for the 2017 ATA National Championships, coming full circle back to where it all began.